Limits are the primary ways that we protect Chargify from attack, overuse, and abuse. Our limits are designed to keep Chargify running smoothly for all merchants and for your potential subscribers.
Our #1 goal is to not create any noticeable impact on users of Chargify. This is especially in the case when our merchants use the systems as designed. If merchants reach these limits, they will be notified in-app that the limit has been reached.
Chargify merchants are categorized into the following 3 categories:
- Cancelled Merchants: Previously paying us but have since stopped paying.
- Developer Account Merchants : (free accounts with only test sites)
- Paying Merchants: Current customers subscribed to paid plans
If you are a active merchant with Chargify, you are catagorized into 2 different subsctions. Each subsection has different guarantees for your data.
Live sites: Your live sites are processing real transactions and are connected to a live gateway.
Test sites: These are “free” additional sites that we encourage merchants to use to test their pricing models and develop new sites. Your test sites will be held to stricter data retention policies. In other words, since your test sites are for research purposes, Chargify will periodically purge data from your test sites.
Please pay close attention to what category you fall into while you use this guide. Additionally, as your sites transition from test to live, please be aware that the limits will shift.
If your Developer account has been inactive for 90 days, the owner email associated with the account will receive a warning after 95 days. After 125 days your account will be purged from the system. As a reminder, when your account is purged, your account is erased completely from the system and not recoverable.
To retain your account, your account must be retain an “Active” status. For your account to be considered “active” you must actively log into your account. Accessing your information via API is not considered logging in and will not count towards maintaining an active status.
In the event your Chargify account is canceled, we will retain your data for 90 days after the cancellation date.
- If you contact us within 90 days of the cancellation of your account, we will be able to restore your account and resurrect your existing Site data.
- After 90 days, your account will be purged from the system and the data will be unavailable for retrieval
ALL sellers, regardless of plan will only be allowed to have up to 10 test sites.
For test sites, which are not live, the following limits are enforced. We’ve provided some examples below that indicate how these limits are applied to your test site.
Test sites have a 500 item limit on the following models:
As an example, you could have 499 products and 499 subscribers on a given test site.
Though Test Sites do have a limit of the number of sites you may have, we do not currently have a limit of the amount of LIVE/Production Sites a merchant can have.
For more information on Chargify’s rate limits and blocks for all endpoints, please see the following article in our developer portal here.
Chargify will retain email history for your all sites for up to 95 days. Any emails that were delivered 95 days are purged from the system.
Subscriptions on your test sites have a limited duration of 180 days After that all active subscriptions are auto-cancelled so that they’re not left “fake billing” indefinitely.
You may not reactivate “auto-canceled” subscription in your test account. They will re-canceled immediately.
Paid Plan Users: Paying merchants are limited to 100 users per account.
Developer Plan Users: Sellers will only be allowed to create up to 10 users
- Chargify retains webhook information in your Site’s webhook panel for 90 days. All activity after 90 days is purged from our system.
- Webhook endpoints are defined by your current plan level in Chargify. For up to the minute information on what your endpoint limits are, please check the Chargify pricing page for comprehensive information.