Login Flow

Customers can be invited to the Billing Portal manually, or automatically upon subscription creation. Visit the Settings tab in Chargify and click on Billing Portal to see the available options.

Billing Portal Access

The Billing Portal does not require the customer to set or remember a password. Instead, everything they need to sign in is included in a variety of helpful e-mails:

  • Invite E-mail: You may choose to have all customers automatically invited to the Billing Portal or you may invite them manually. When the customer accepts an invitation, they will be signed in to the Billing Portal to be able to access their subscriptions. The invite e-mail is valid for 48 hours after it is sent. If a customer tries to use the invite after this time, they’ll be asked to generate a new invite.

  • Login E-mail: If the customer has not used the Billing Portal for an extended period of time, he or she may be asked to sign in again. From the login screen, the customer can request to receive a new login URL via email. This link is valid for 1 hour. This process is very similar to the common “Reset Password” procedure on most websites (and has a similar security profile).

When Email Verification is Required

When a customer attempts to access the Billing Portal if they have not verified their email, they will not be given access to the Billing Portal.

When Email Verification is Not Required

When a customer attempts to access the Billing Portal if Email Verification is not required, the following is an overview of the user experience.

The Subscriber can chose to visit the Management Link from their email and immediately access the Billing Portal. Alternately, the customer can click the login link in the invitation and be logged into the Billing Portal immediately.

Billing Portal Access Information

  • Invitation emails are valid for 24 hours after being sent from Chargify via email.

  • Login links are valid for 1 hour after being sent from Chargify via email.

  • Once logged into the Billing Portal, the customer can access their Billing Portal account directly via their managment link on the device they orignally logged in on.

  • The customer’s session is subject to being invalidated due to a period of inactivity.

  • Old Management links become invalid over a period of time.

  • If a customer wants to access the Billing Portal account from a different device, they will need to request a new login link, sent via emai, and click on that link from their new device.