Reactivation

Reactivation allows you to restart a previously canceled subscription. Reactivating a subscription will have the following effects:

  • The subscription balance will be reset to $0
  • The subscription will be immediately activated
  • The customer will be charged the normal price for a single period
  • The customer’s billing date will be reset to today

How to reactivate a subscription

To reactivate a subscription, navigate to the Subscription and use the “Reactivate” link in the Operations menu.

You will see a confirmation screen that outlines what will occur on reactivation. Click ‘Reactivate Subscription’ to initiate the reactivation.

Updating the credit card before reactivation

There are two ways to update the credit card before reactivation. You may need to do this if the subscription was originally canceled due to failed transactions on the original card.

From the reactivation confirmation screen, there are two links in the “Credit Card” section:

  1. Update Payment Profile: allows the Merchant to manually update the card
  2. Send Update Profile request email to Customer: sends an email to the Customer requesting card update, including a link to a page to perform the update. Once the card is updated, you will still need to initiate the reactivation. Canceled subscriptions do not become active again just because the attached card is updated.

Reactivating Trial Ended Subscriptions

One a Subscription has reached the Trial Ended status, you can reactivate the subscription easily by choosing Reactivate from the Actions menu.

You may choose the default option of activating a Subscriber on the same product without including the trial. If you do not include the trial, the following will occur:

  • This existing balance will be cleared.
  • This subscription will be immediately activated.
  • The customer will be charged the cost of the full product’s recurring period cost
  • The customer’s billing date will be reset to today.

You may also select the checkbox to include the trial. If you do include the trial, the following will occur:

  • This existing balance will be cleared.
  • This subscription will begin the trial immediately.